Outcomes of the 5th International Arctic Forum

Forum participants

The ‘Arctic: Territory of Dialogue’ 5th International Arctic Forum brought together more than 3,600 participants from 52 countries. The largest delegations came from China, Norway, Finland, Sweden, the USA, Denmark, Iceland, Canada, and Japan. The Forum brought together leading experts, heads of major companies, relevant ministries and departments of the Arctic countries interested in cooperation with the region.

Russia was represented by 7 federal ministers, 10 heads of national bodies and services, and 15 regional leaders.

The Forum was attended by the President of the Russian Federation Vladimir Putin, the President of the Republic of Finland Sauli Niinistö, the President of Iceland Guðni Thorlacius Jóhannesson, the Prime Minister of Norway Erna Solberg, the Prime Minister of Sweden Stefan Löfven, the Minister of Foreign Affairs of Denmark Anders Samuelsen, and the Minister of Foreign Affairs of Norway Ine Marie Eriksen Søreide.

Eight countries sent officials responsible for Arctic affairs at their respective foreign ministries, and a number of EU representatives. The Forum was attended by heads of major international organizations representing the Arctic Circle, the Arctic Economic Council, the Barents Euro-Arctic Council, and the Saami Council, as well as Petteri Taalas, Secretary General of the World Meteorological Organization, and Patricia Espinosa Cantellano, Executive Secretary of the United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change.

The International Arctic Forum invariably attracts significant attention from the scientific community. The Forum was attended by Artur Chilingarov, President of the Association of Polar Explorers, Gennady Cheurin, full member of the Russian Geographical Society since 1984 and Honorary Polar Explorer, Sabri Mered, co-founder of the French Polar Cluster, and other representatives from the scientific community.

Business programme

Over the course of three days, 49 events were held, including sessions, discussions, pitch sessions, and lectures.

The business programme was divided into three pillars: ‘Coastal Territories’, ‘The Open Ocean’, and ‘Sustainable Development’. The key event on the Forum’s business programme was the plenary session entitled ‘The Arctic. An Ocean of Opportunity’.

Special events were held during the International Arctic Forum: a roundtable on the development of the Northern Sea Route held on board the 50 Let Pobedy icebreaker, a session of the State Commission for Arctic Development, an Arctic Municipalities Forum, the 2nd Northern Forum Governors’ Meeting, and the Forum’s Youth Day.

Cultural and Sporting Programme

A cultural programme was provided for guests and participants of the Forum, encompassing numerous exhibitions, concerts, film screenings, and presentations. During the Sporting programme there were such events as horse-riding, a gala ice-hockey match, sporting and practice shooting tournaments and a squash tournament.

Agreements

Forty-five agreements were signed at the Forum worth a total of RUB 69.8 billion (counting agreements where the figures were not classified as commercial secrets).

For more information, visit the Outcomes of the 5th International Arctic Forum section of the website.

Итоги Международного арктического форума – 2019

Участники Форума

Международный арктический форум – 2019 собрал на своей площадке более 3600 человек из 52 стран мира. Самыми многочисленными стали делегации из Китая, Норвегии, Финляндии, Швеции, США, Дании, Исландии, Канады и Японии. Форум собрал ведущих экспертов, глав крупнейших компаний, руководителей профильных министерств и ведомств арктических стран, заинтересованных в сотрудничестве с регионом.

Россию представили семь федеральных министров, 10 руководителей федеральных агентств и служб, а также главы 15 субъектов Российской Федерации.

В Форуме приняли участие: Президент Российской Федерации Владимир Путин, Президент Финляндии Саули Ниинистё, Президент Исландии Гудни Торласиус Йоханнессон, Премьер-министр Норвегии Эрна Сульберг, Премьер-министр Швеции Стефан Лёвен, Министр иностранных дел Дании Андерс Самуэльсен и Министр иностранных дел Норвегии Ине Мари Эриксен Сёрэйде.

На Форуме присутствовали представители министерств иностранных дел по вопросам Арктики 8 иностранных государств, включая Европейский союз; главы Арктического круга, Арктического экономического совета, Совета Баренцева/Евроарктического региона, Союза Саамов, Генеральный секретарь Всемирной метеорологической организации Петтери Таалас и исполнительный секретарь Рамочной конвенции ООН об изменении климата Патрисия Эспиноса Кантельяно.

Арктический форум традиционно привлекает большое внимание научного сообщества. Форум посетили: президент Межрегиональной общественной организации «Ассоциация полярников» Артур Николаевич Чилингаров, действительный член Русского географического общества с 1984 года, почетный полярник Геннадий Семёнович Чеурин, сооснователь Французского полярного кластера Сабри Меред и другие представители научных кругов.

Деловая программа

За три дня работы в формате сессий, обсуждений, питч-сессий, лекций было проведено 49 мероприятий.

Основная деловая программа Форума состояла из трех тематических блоков: «Прибрежные территории», «Открытый океан» и «Устойчивое развитие». Ключевым событием деловой программы Форума стало пленарное заседание «Арктика. Океан возможностей».

В рамках Международного арктического форума были проведены специальные мероприятия: круглый стол по обсуждению развития Северного морского пути на атомном ледоколе «50 лет Победы», заседание Государственной комиссии по вопросам развития Арктики, Форум арктических муниципалитетов, II Встреча губернаторов Северного форума, а также Молодежный день Форума.

Культурная и спортивная программы

Гостям и участникам Форума была также предложена культурная программа: многочисленные выставки и фотовыставки, концерты, кинопоказы, творческие встречи и презентации. В рамках спортивной программы Форума состоялись конные прогулки, гала-матч по хоккею, турниры по спортингу, практической стрельбе и сквошу.

Соглашения

На Форуме было подписано 45 соглашений на общую сумму 69,8 млрд рублей (учитывая соглашения, сумма которых не является коммерческой тайной).

С более подробной информацией об итогах Форума можно ознакомиться в разделе «Итоги Международного арктического форума – 2019».